three hundred and fifty seven

(It’s December 24th.)

I just love Christmas Eve. I remember when Charlie and I were younger, we would take our PJ’s to my grandmother’s house in order to be ready to get in bed RIGHT AWAY when we arrived home. It would be toasty inside. Warm. Full of laughter and family and presents and talk of Santa Clause. Then, we would run out in our sock feet into the winter air and jump in the car, shivering. I miss that excitement on Christmas Eve. It’s still warm and full of laughter, but the mystery and longing for Christmas Day isn’t really there anymore. I guess it’s something you don’t really ever get back. Being able to give your kids that same warm, happy feeling is about as close as it gets I would think. But I don’t know yet! We will see. The absence of mystery doesn’t really subtract from my love of the occasion, though. It’s fun to be able to watch Sarah get so excited about what she’s going to get for Christmas!!

We always go to Mud’s house on Christmas Eve and spend time with that side of the family. We have this great tradition where each of us gets one of the “12 Days of Christmas” ornaments and we perform the song singing only the ornament we have. Some people double (or triple) up and we sing and laugh at the people who forget their turn and sing some more. I’ll have to say…this year was one of our best times! No one really forgot to come in and sing their day. I was “…7 swans a swimmingggg…”

Here are some of my favorite pictures from the night.

Funny cousin pic!

Funny cousin pic!

The 4 original girl cousins

The 4 original girl cousins

Feliz navidad!

Feliz navidad!

Smile!!

Smile!!

Oh, brother.

Oh, brother.

Lean back.

Lean back.

Grandma position

Grandma position

Proud of my outfit!

Proud of my outfit!

Balancing act.

Balancing act.

Leave a Reply

