One Hundred and twenty

This morning, I woke up earlier than I have in a while and went to observe some ESOL teachers at Burch Elementary. Ohhhh my gosh. I loved it. I could imagine myself doing that. That’s something that I don’t think has ever happened in my life before (when it comes to work).

The class sizes were small–the biggest class was 9. NINE!!!! Compared to 26 kids at one time (like in my Mexican classroom) that don’t speak English as a first language, that is like Heaven on Earth!! All of these kids had a pretty high speaking level, the kind ladies who let me observe said that they push all year with reading and writing because they are, after all, the fundamentals of education.

If you think about it, it totally makes sense. Most of these little people were born in the U.S., but their parents are from a Spanish-speaking country, mostly Mexico, and they speak Spanish at home and English in school. They speak it and almost act as advocates for their parents because they can speak it. But, there’s no good reason that they should read it at home. Home is for Spanish!

Anyways, it was really great and Burch has a really high Hispanic population, so I was loving it.

Leave a Reply

